2021 PSL Championships  l  2020 PSL Championships  l  2019 PSL Championships

Detroit Public School League
2022 Football Championships

Friday, October 14, 2022 at Tom Adams Field at Wayne State University

2022 Detroit PSL Blue Division Football Champions: Detroit Cass Technical


Detroit Cass Technical wins PSL Blue Division Football Championship

   Detroit Cass Technical knocked off Division 3 No. 1-ranked Detroit Martin Luther King Jr. 28-14 to earn the Detroit Public School League Blue Division Football Championship on Friday, Oct. 14, at Tom Adams Field at Wayne State University.

   Senior Leeshaun Mumpfield connected with freshman Corey Sadler Jr. for a 40-yard touchdown pass with 1:09 left in the first quarter to give Cass Tech a 7-0 lead.

   Senior Sean Hodges found the end zone from two yards out to increase the lead to 14-0.

   King came back to tie the game at 14-14 as senior Dante Moore tossed a 72-yard touchdown pass to senior Jameel Croft Jr. and rushed for a score late in the second quarter.

   Junior Jaylen Washington recovered a fumble in the end zone with 14 seconds left in the third quarter to put Cass Tech back on top 21-14.

   Mumpfield tossed another touchdown pass to Sadler in the fourth quarter for the final score. Sophomore Kolton Porter kicked four extra points.

      The win avenged a 21-15 loss to King in the 2021 PSL championship and a 28-23 regular season loss to King on Sept. 16.

   Cass Tech improved to 5-3 overall with the win and will host a Catholic High School League team to be determined on Friday, Oct. 21. With the win, Cass Tech moved up to No. 29 (51.405) in Michigan High School Athletic Association Division 1 playoff points. The top 32 teams in each division make the playoffs.

   King fell to 5-2 and hosts Cincinnati (Ohio) Moeller (8-0) on Friday, Oct. 21.

   Cass Tech last won the PSL championship in 2020.

2022 Detroit PSL Gold Division Football Champions: Detroit Central

Head coach: Jimmie Macon  l  Assistant coaches: Brandon Williams, Dion Alexander, Ines Harris, Pierrie Walker, Marcel Smith, Keith King


Detroit Central repeats as PSL Gold Division Football Champions

   Division 7 No. 3-ranked Detroit Central defeated Detroit Southeastern 31-14 to repeat as the Detroit Public School League Gold Division Football Champions on Friday, Oct. 14, at Tom Adams Field at Wayne State University.

   Senior quarterback Jeveion Lewis threw for three touchdowns and rushed for another to lead Central.

   Central opened the scoring with a safety to take a 2-0 lead.

   Southeastern went ahead 6-2 on a 23-yard touchdown run by sophomore quarterback Julian Liddell.

   Central took a 9-6 lead with 7:50 left in the second quarter when Lewis connected with senior DeMarcus Brown for a 22-yard touchdown.

   Southeastern got a safety with 1:41 left in the quarter to close the gap to 9-8.

   Lewis found senior Anthony Walk for a 25-yard touchdown and then found senior Dontez Hicks for the conversion to take a 17-8 halftime lead.

   After neither team scored in the third quarter, Southeastern senior Isaiah Clemmons rushed 127 yards and scored on a six-yard run with 10:54 left in the fourth quarter to cut the deficit to 17-14.

   It was then all Central from that point.

   Central junior DeCarlos White caught a 70-yard touchdown pass from Lewis and Lewis rushed for the conversion to make the score 25-14 with 9:07 left.

   Lewis rushed for a three-yard touchdown with 3:43 left to complete the scoring.

   Senior Tristan Duncan had two interceptions for the Trailblazers

   Central improved to 8-0 with the victory and travels to Detroit Cody (3-5) to complete the regular season on Friday, Oct. 21.

   The Trailblazers have won three PSL championships in the past four seasons.

   Central beat Southeastern 35-20 on Sept. 23.

   Southeastern fell to 5-3 and look to secure a Michigan High School Athletic Association playoff spot on Friday, Oct. 21, hosting Southfield Bradford Academy (2-6). Southeastern is currently No. 30 (37.196) in Division 5 playoff points. The top 32 teams in each division earn playoff berths.