Detroit Public School League
2021 Baseball Championship

Tuesday, May 25, 2021, at Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett

2021 Detroit PSL baseball champions: Detroit Western International


Head coach: Juan Carlos Sanchez   Assistant coaches: Andy Gutierrez, Hector Gutierrez, Danny Olivo, Mike Vazquez

Players: Adiran Morales, Enoc Taveras, Tristen Strong, Abel Gutierrez, Sabastian Jaimes, Kevin Ortiz, Jordan Cruz, Julian Djurasaj, Julian Quinero, Derick Garcia, Wander Rodriguez, Eric Vargas, Hamsey Fernandez, Jeremy Fernandez, Hector Jaimes, Joaquin Martinez, Isaias Villarreal

Detroit Western International earns 13th straight PSL baseball championship

Detroit Western International pounded Detroit Cass Technical 15-0 in three innings to earn the 2021 Detroit Public School League baseball championship. It was the 13th straight title for Western and its 14th in 16 seasons. Senior Hector Jaimes earned the victory on the mound, allowing two hits and striking out four in three innings. Jaimes scored twice at the plate. Senior Eric Vargas had a home run and a triple, scoring three runs, and driving in two runs in the victory for the Cowboys. Sophomore Trisen Strong blasted a three-run home run. Sophomore Sebastian James drove in three runs. Senior Isaias Villarreal had two hits, scored two runs, and drove in two runs. Senior Joaquin Martinez had a walk and single and scored two runs.